Frequently asked questions

Before directly contacting our product or technical support, please go through our FAQ - answers to the frequently asked questions are provided here.

If you cannot find an answer to your question, then our staff will be happy to help you. You can contact our team by calling +49 30 23257770 or by sending an e-mail or by using our » CONTACT FORM.

You can find additional technical information in the macmon service portal under KnowledgeBase.

» PLEASE REGISTER HERE for getting access to the service portal and KnowledgeBase

» LOGIN for already registered users

FAQ

» I have a very heterogeneous network with various switches and routers. Can macmon really cater to my environment?

Yes, macmon operates completely independent of the manufacturer. This means that all the SNMP manageable switches and routers can be controlled using macmon. Thus we can completely cover even highly heterogeneous environments.

» The security requirements in my company are very different - e.g. our research area has to be made highly secure. Can macmon do it?

Yes, macmon can be used in hybrid operation. This means that only the MAC address is used for authentication in some areas and more properties are used in other areas, like e.g., the IP address, host name and operating system, and in still other areas, even certificates in conjunction with 802.1X or the TPM chip.

» Though we have modern switches, we do not have much expertise in their administration because we have used only the standard functions. Do I have to acquire extensive know-how in this regard?

No, this is not necessary. The administration is done by macmon using the very simple GUI. There are just a few settings like username and password, which need to be configured on the switches. But this is generally configured already - regardless of how extensively the switches were used previously.

» What does macmon require from the network infrastructure?

Our requirements are minimal. It should be possible to manage the switches and routers using SNMP V1, V2c or V3 (read and write) or using SSH / Telnet.

» How much maintenance is required for macmon?

This is one of the biggest advantages of macmon: the maintenance effort is minimal. Some of our customers have saved a lot of time by implementing macmon because many automatic functions, like the dynamic VLAN management or macmon compliance, make the day-to-day work a lot easier.

» Can I meet the BSI and ISO specifications using macmon?

Yes, the measure 2.216 of the basic BSI baseline security catalog* and of Article 11.4.3 of the ISO 27001/17799 standard ("Automatic equipment identification should be considered as a means to authenticate connections from specific locations and equipment") can be completely covered.

* " The installation and use of unapproved IT components should be prohibited and the compliance with this prohibition should be checked regularly.

» I have heard a lot about 802.1X, why do I need macmon as well?

macmon can considerably simplify the implementation and administration of 802.1X. The implementation is often even made possible through macmon by using its own RADIUS server, a simple web GUI and covering even areas that are not 802.1X-compliant. Additional functions like VLAN management or event-based responses are impossible or very difficult without the support of macmon.

» The implementation with 802.1X is considered very secure, but I do not want to setup a PKI. Can macmon still be used accordingly?

Yes, the standard can be used with certificates as well as with MAC addresses (MAB Mac Authentication Bypass) or username and password. macmon can hence also use other authentication options as the certificate. Additionally, there is the possibility to cover network areas, which are not able to use the 802.1X standard through out the macmon mixed mode. Those areas than can switch to 802.1X step by step related to modernizing the systems "step by step".

» What is the licensing process of macmon?

macmon is modularly designed and can be licensed in different ways. The basis is the number of MAC addresses (nodes) to be authenticated.

» How can I test macmon?

You have several options for working precisely with macmon. The virtual appliance can be quickly integrated with VMWare or HyperV and can be used directly. Alternatively, you can obtain a machine from us or your partner system house. You can obtain the associated trial license also directly from your partner or from us.

» Where can I purchase macmon?

macmon is sold only indirectly across the world. This means that the solution cannot be purchased directly from macmon secure gmbh, but through one of our partners, who also provide support in testing, licensing and implementing. As a partner you can purchase our products and services through our Value Added Distributor Wick Hill.

» How is the support from macmon ensured whenever I need help?

You always have at least two options for a contact partner for support cases. The sales partner, through whom you purchased macmon, provides support and already knows your environment. In addition, you always have the option of contacting us directly. Our support team is based in Berlin and can be reached by phone and email during our business hours.

» Is macmon equipped for the future and hence a secure investment?

With macmon, some future technologies like the use of the TPM chip or IF-MAP technologie are already covered. The team of German developers based in Berlin is also constantly working on enhancing and developing new options for macmon. New standards, new research results, etc. are constantly being incorporated into the development of the software and as promptly as possible.

» Which operating systems does macmon support?

macmon is available as a physical and virtual appliance for VMware and HyperV. Hence, you need not provide or maintain any operating system from your side. The operating systems of the systems to be authenticated do not matter, because our technologies start working already underneath them and macmon also works without an agent.

» What effect does the use of macmon secure have on research projects like e.g., at the Fachhochschule Hannover (University of Applied Sciences and Arts)

The joint research with the Hochschule Hannover (University of Applied Sciences and Arts) and other involved parties provides us with the option of always using the latest technologies and to be involved actively in developing new possibilities. macmon TP and macmon IF-MAP client are direct results of this research.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Bevor Sie sich direkt an unseren Produkt- oder technischen Support wenden, werfen Sie bitte einen Blick auf unsere FAQ - die häufigsten Fragen werden Ihnen hier beantwortet.

Sollte Ihre Frage noch nicht beantwortet sein, helfen Ihnen unsere Mitarbeiter gerne weiter. Sie erreichen unser Team unter +49 30 23257770 oder senden Sie uns eine E-Mail oder nutzen Sie unser » KONTAKTFORMULAR.

Weiterführende technische Informationen finden Sie auf dem macmon Service-Portal in der KnowledgeBase.
Für den Zugang zum Service-Portal und der KnowledgeBase » Registrieren Sie sich bitte hier.

» LOGIN für bereits registrierte Benutzer

FAQ

» Ich habe ein sehr heterogenes Netzwerk mit verschiedenen Switches und Routern. Kann macmon auch wirklich meine Umgebung abdecken?

Ja, macmon arbeitet vollkommen herstellerunabhängig. Das bedeutet, dass mit macmon alle SNMP managebaren Switche und Router kontrolliert werden können. So erreichen wir auch in stark gemischten Umgebungen eine volle Abdeckung.

» In meinem Unternehmen gibt es ganz verschiedene Sicherheitsanforderungen - z.B.  muss unser Forschungsbereich hochsicher gemacht werden. Kann macmon das?

Ja, macmon kann im Mischbetrieb eingesetzt werden. Das bedeutet, dass in manchen Bereichen zur Authentifizierung nur die MAC-Adresse verwendet wird, in anderen Bereichen mehr Eigenschaften, wie z.B. IP-Adresse, Hostname und Betriebssystem und in noch anderen Bereichen sogar Zertifikate in Verbindung mit 802.1X oder dem TPM-Chip.

 

» Wir haben zwar moderne Switches, aber bisher sehr wenig Know-How in der Administration, da wir nur die Standartfunktionen genutzt haben. Muss ich hier erst für umfangreiches Wissen sorgen?

Nein, das ist nicht notwendig. Die Administration erfolgt über die sehr einfache GUI von macmon. Es gibt nur sehr wenige Einstellungen wie Benutzername und Passwort, die an den Switches konfiguriert werden muss. Das ist aber in der Regel bereits konfiguriert – egal wie umfangreich die Switches bisher genutzt wurden.

» Welche Anforderungen hat macmon an die Netzwerkinfrastruktur?

Unsere Anforderungen sind minimal. Die Switches und Router müssen per SNMP V1, V2c oder V3 managebar sein (lesen und schreiben) oder per SSH/Telnet.

» Wie hoch ist der Pflegeaufwand für macmon?

Hier liegt einer der großen Vorteile von macmon: der Pflegeaufwand ist minimal. Einige unserer Kunden konnten durch die Einführung von macmon sogar Zeit einsparen, da viele Automatismen, wie das dynamische VLAN-Management oder die macmon compliance, die tägliche Arbeit enorm vereinfachen.

» Kann ich mit macmon auch BSI- und ISO-Vorgaben erfüllen?

Ja, die Maßnahme 2.216 des BSI-Grundschutzkataloges* und der Artikel 11.4.3 des ISO 27001/17799 Standards ("Automatic equipment identification should be considered as a means to authenticate connections from specific locations and Equipment") können vollständig abgedeckt werden.

*"Die Installation und Benutzung nicht freigegebener IT-Komponenten muss verboten und die Einhaltung dieses Verbotes regelmäßig kontrolliert werden."

» Ich habe schon viel von 802.1X gehört, warum brauche ich dazu noch macmon?

macmon kann die Einführung und Administration von 802.1X enorm vereinfachen. Durch den eigenen RADIUS-Server, eine einfache Web-GUI und die Abdeckung aller auch nicht 802.1X-fähigen Bereiche, wird die Einführung oft erst ermöglicht.  Zusätzliche Funktionen wie VLAN-Management oder ereignisbasierte Reaktionen sind ohne die Unterstützung durch macmon nicht bis sehr schwierig möglich.

» Die Umsetzung mit 802.1X gilt als sehr sicher, ich möchte aber keine PKI aufbauen. Kann macmon trotzdem entsprechend eingesetzt werden?

Ja, der Standard kann sowohl mit Zertifikaten, als auch mit MAC-Adressen (MAB-Mac Authentication Bypass) oder Benutzername und Passwort genutzt werden. macmon kann daher auch andere Authentifizierungsmöglichkeiten als das Zertifikat nutzen. Zusätzlich können durch die Möglichkeit des Mischbetriebes auch Bereiche abgedeckt werden, die noch nicht 802.1X fähig sind. Diese Bereiche wiederum können dann z.B. mit einer „nach und nach“-Modernisierung auch „nach und nach“ mit 802.1X kontrolliert werden.

» Wie erfolgt die Lizenzierung von macmon?

macmon ist modular aufgebaut und kann in verschiedenen Ausprägungen lizenziert werden. Grundlage sind jeweils die Anzahl der zu authentifizierenden MAC-Adressen (Nodes).

» Wie kann ich macmon testen?

Sie haben verschiedene Möglichkeiten sich genauer mit macmon zu beschäftigen. Die virtuelle Appliance ist schnell unter VMWare oder HyperV eingebunden und kann direkt genutzt werden. Alternativ können Sie von uns oder Ihrem Partnersystemhaus eine Maschine bekommen. Die dazugehörige Testlizenz erhalten Sie ebenfalls direkt von Ihrem Partner oder über uns.

» Wo kann ich macmon erwerben?

macmon wird weltweit nur indirekt vertrieben. Das bedeutet, dass die Lösung nicht direkt von der macmon secure gmbh bezogen wird, sondern über einen unserer Partner, die auch beratend beim Test, der Lizenzierung und der Einführung zur Seite stehen. Für Partner erfolgt der Bezug über unsere Distribution.

» Wie ist der Support von macmon gewährleistet, gerade wenn ich mal Hilfe benötige?

Als Ansprechpartner für Supportfälle haben Sie immer mindestens zwei Möglichkeiten. Der Vertriebspartner über den Sie macmon bezogen haben, leistet Support und kennt auch bereits Ihre Umgebung. Zusätzlich haben Sie immer die Möglichkeit sich auch direkt an uns zu wenden. Unser Supportteam sitzt direkt in Berlin und ist während unserer Geschäftszeiten telefonisch und per E-Mail erreichbar.

» Ist macmon auch für die Zukunft gerüstet und damit investitionssicher?

Mit macmon werden schon heute einige Zukunftstechnologien wie die Nutzung des TPM-Chips oder die zukunftsweisende IF-MAP Technologie abgedeckt. Das Team deutscher Entwickler mit Sitz in Berlin ist zusätzlich ständig dabei, macmon zu erweitern und neue Möglichkeiten zu schaffen. Neue Standards, neue Forschungsergebnisse, etc. fließen permanent und so zeitnah wie möglich in die Weiterentwicklung der Software ein.

» Welche Betriebssysteme werden von macmon unterstützt?

macmon wird als physikalische und als virtuelle Appliance für VMWare und HyperV angeboten. Von Ihrer Seite muss daher kein Betriebssystem bereitgestellt oder gepflegt werden. Die Betriebssysteme der zu authentifizierenden Systeme spielen keine Rolle, da unsere Technologien bereits darunter einsetzen und macmon zudem agentenlos funktioniert.

» Welchen Einfluss hat die Beteiligung von macmon secure an Forschungsprojekten, wie zum Beispiel mit der Fachhochschule Hannover?

Die gemeinsame Forschung mit der Fachhochschule Hannover und anderen Beteiligten bietet uns die Möglichkeit, immer die neuesten Technologien nutzen zu können und bei der Schaffung von neuen Möglichkeiten aktiv mitzuwirken. macmon TP und der macmon IF-MAP-Client sind direkte Ergebnisse aus dieser Forschung.